Cynthia ChaplinBoard Member
 Cynthia Chaplin has been a director of the Foundation since May 2014. She has almost 30 years of experience as an energy economist, consultant and regulator in Canada and Great Britain. Most recently, Cynthia served as Member, Vice Chair, and Chair & CEO (interim) of the Ontario Energy Board (2004-2014). She is an expert adjudicator with significant experience in corporate governance and change management. Cynthia currently sits on the Board of Directors of Ontario’s Independent Electricity System Operator. She also provides consulting services in energy and regulation to private and public sector clients. Cynthia holds a Master’s degree in economics from the University of Toronto and the ICD.D designation from the Institute of Corporate Directors.
Cynthia Hamlin Board Member
Cynthia Hamlin is a proud graduate of Northern Secondary School and has been president of the NSS Foundation since 2010. She was an early participant in the school’s Co-op program, doing accounting work; a career that Cynthia went on to enjoy for the next two decades. Cynthia earned a bachelors degree in accounting from Pennsylvania State University, and her MBA from Utica College. As a consultant with Investors Group Financial Services Inc., Cynthia focuses on helping women and women-owned businesses to build wealth. Cynthia can often be found cheering on the Northern Red Knights football teams at home games.
Ashlyn O'MaraBoard Member
Ashlyn has been a director of the Foundation since October 2013 and was responsible for the recent launch of the Foundation’s new website. Ashlyn is a lawyer and currently works as a sole practitioner in North Toronto. Her practice areas include family law, wills and estates and real estate. She is also an active member of the Ontario Bar Association where she sits on the Executive of the Young Lawyer Division (Central) and the Sole, Small Firm and General Practice Sections and works in conjunction with her colleagues to develop Continuing Legal Education seminars for Ontario’s lawyers. In addition to her legal practice, Ashlyn also teaches part-time at Seneca College in the School of Legal and Public Administration and enjoys coaching Seneca College’s Paralegal Moot Team every year.

Colleen Reed Board Member
 Colleen Reed is an Independent Educational Consultant and owner of American College Consulting. She assists high school students searching for the right fit at universities in the USA, Canada and the UK. She has worked as a secondary school teacher for the TDSB and the District of West Vancouver. In addition, she serves on the Brown University Club of Toronto as a board member. Colleen lives in Toronto with her husband and 2 daughters.
Sara Opoku Board Member
Sara Opoku attended Northern Secondary School during 2002-2004 and during her time at Northern was member of the schools Track and Field Team and Dance Squad. She has a Joint Honours degree in Criminology and Political Science from York University, and she also has completed an LL.B at the University of Sussex in the UK. Sara has a strong passion for community work and community advancement. Sara is currently completing her articles to become a Lawyer licensed in Ontario at The Bank of Nova Scotia Trust Company. Sara Opoku is a student member of Society for Trust and Estate Practitioners, and a member of the Ontario Bar Association.
Alan Wakayama Board Member
Alan Wakayama was born and raised in Toronto, Ontario. He currently works as a Cargo Handler for FedEx Express Canada at Pearson International Airport. This is Alan’s second term as a director of the Northern Secondary School Alumni committee and is responsible for organizing Northern Secondary School’s Annual Alumni Golf Invitational. Alan is also the Receivers Coach for the Northern Secondary School Senior Football team. Alan is also a volunteer at the Japanese Canadian Cultural Centre and assists the Centre with various events and festivals. Alan enjoys playing hockey and golf in his spare time.

Cherie DanielBoard Member
Cherie is a criminal defence lawyer with over 10 years of experience. She has practiced in the areas of criminal law, regulatory, tax and civil law. Cherie also teaches in the Paralegal program at George Brown College  and she is currently working towards her LLM at Osgoode Law School.
Dickin LamBoard Member
Dickin Lam has been a director of the Foundation since January 2016. Prior to becoming a consultant to startups and young companies, Dickin was an entrepreneur with extensive experience in the technology industry.  After 10 years with IBM Canada and Dell Canada, he co-founded startups in online institutional pharmacy, business intelligence and online media.  Dickin speaks fluent English, Cantonese and Mandarin, and holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Computer Science from University of Hong Kong and an MBA for Schulich School of Business at York University. 
Jennifer WittigBoard Member
 Jennifer Wittig is a seasoned HR leader with over 15 years of Canadian, U.S. and global experience within investment research, high technology and professional services organizations. Her track record involves shaping healthy organizational cultures while leading data-driven initiatives that drive measurable results. She is a Certified Human Resources Leader (CHRL), Solution Focused Coach and busy mother of two young children. She cares deeply about learning, development, community and is proud to serve on the NSSF board.

Board Structure

Directors Past & Present


  • Cynthia Hamlin October 2010-present
  • Dale R. Callender 2006-October 2010
  • Cathy Maroccia 2006
  • Margaret Zuker 1999-2006

Vice President:

  • Cynthia Chaplin – 2015 – present
  • Gail Jacobs – September 2010-2013
  • Jim Best 2009 – September 2010
  • David Jones 2007-2009
  • Jim Hutton 2006
  • Jean Probyn 1999-2006


  • Dickin Lam 2016-present
  • Mark Kohler 2012-2014
  • Mike Chesher 2010- 2012
  • Wen Liu 2008-2010
  • Marcus Christensen 2007
  • Kent Moore 2006-2007
  • David Moore 2005
  • Mary Louise Jones 2003-2005
  • Nancy Wang 2002
  • Joe Luszczek 1999-2002


  • Colleen Reed 2015-present
  • Jonathan Isaac 2012-2015
  • Becky Organ 2011-2012
  • Ronni Brott 2008 – 2011
  • David Elliott 2006-2008
  • John Lombardi 2006
  • Holli Verkade 2002-2005
  • Bruce Robb 1999-2002

Directors and Ex-officio (EXO – non voting):

  • Debbie Barton Moore
  • Gary Chen
  • Mary Laszlo
  • Ron Dimock
  • Stephanie Lauber
  • Wendy Dines
  • David Lockwood
  • Jackie Scroggie(EXO)
  • Sharon Grossman
  • Andrew Tsang
  • Jean Hammond
  • Dan Dominico
  • Marie Scarland James
  • Kim Taylor
  • Zoltan Koritar
  • Bob Milne(EXO)
  • Catherine Schuler
  • Susan Lancaster
  • Donna Walsh
  • Sudhi Menon
  • Varla Abrams(EXO)
  • Leanne Lewis
  • Derek Tsang
  • Bryon White
  • Jane Steele Moore
  • Charles Wyatt
  • Liane Soles
  • Jim Best
  • Suri Weinberg Linsky
  • Dan Burns
  • Gail Jacobs(EXO)
  • Eva Pathak(EXO)
  • Anne Marie Paraghamian
  • Magdalena Bracer
  • Daniel Hutton
  • Robert Beutel
  • Amy Gowans
  • Alex Stephen
  • Beverly Manchee
  • Cynthia Hamlin
  • Julian Markowitz
  • Yeugenia Kazantseva(EXO)
  • Stephanie Holbik(EXO)
  • Linda Johnson
  • Marcus Christensen
  • Dean Rogers
  • Holly Henderson (EXO)
  • Josie Gillespie(EXO)
  • Alex Gladwell
  • Margaret Bennett
  • Oliver Hibbs
  • Daniel Rodic
  • Becky Organ
  • Andrea Petroff
  • Gail Jacobs

Student Council Senator Representative – NON VOTING RIGHTS

  • 2014-2015 Jayun Bae
  • 2013-2014 Braun Scott
  • 2012-2013 Joseph Chusid
  • 2011-2012 Claire Chen
  • 2010-2011 Max Berger
  • 2009-2010 Daniel Sorek
  • 2008-2009 Rejuana Alam
  • 2007-2008 Arielle Kaplan
  • 2006-2007 Matt Kaplan